Guitar Hero Wants to Make You a “Warrior of Rock” This Fall

The latest installment in Activision’s “Guitar Hero” series is coming out this fall. A brand-new, story-driven “Quest Mode” leads off the improvements, followed by a redesigned guitar (because you totally needed another one), the largest selection of music on the game disc yet and a new “Quickplay+” mode which lets you add extra challenges to any song in the entire Guitar Hero Music Library.

“Warriors of Rock” brings back Party Play and adds the ability to play any combination of instruments. Want a four-guitar band? You can have it. Quest Mode also has the ability to use any combination of instruments, and takes you from the stage of CBGBs in New York City to rivers of molten lava, where you band together to save rock n’ roll, by taking down “The Beast” alongside the Demi-God of Rock (voiced by Gene Simmons).

Quickplay+ will add more life to your library, with the addition of 13 gameplay challenges for every track on the disc as well as most downloadable songs (from World Tour onward, anyway). Challenges include Band Streak, High Score and Power Challenge, which lets you take two unlocked powers in an attempt to earn the most ridiculous high score possible. If you make it high enough, you might even land on the Challenge Leaderboard.

This iteration of the game has more than 90 on-disc tracks, including a song by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth that was inspired by the game’s Quest Mode. The first set of songs up for reveal are:

  • AFI – “Dancing Through Sunday”
  • Avenged Sevenfold “Bat Country”
  • Black Sabbath “Children Of The Grave”
  • Buzzcocks “What Do I Get?”
  • Children Of Bodom “If You Want Peace… Prepare For War”
  • The Cure “Fascination Street”
  • Def Leppard – “Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)”
  • Dethklok “Bloodlines”
  • DragonForce “Fury of the Storm”
  • Drowning Pool “Bodies”
  • Foo Fighters “No Way Back”
  • Foreigner “Feels Like The First Time”
  • Jane’s Addiction “Been Caught Stealing”
  • KISS “Love Gun”
  • Megadeth “Sudden Death”
  • Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne “Paranoid (Live)”
  • Muse – “Uprising”
  • My Chemical Romance “I’m Not Okay (I Promise)”
  • Queen “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  • Rammstein – “Waidmanns Heil”
  • The Rolling Stones “Stray Cat Blues”
  • Silversun Pickups “There’s No Secrets This Year”
  • Slayer “Chemical Warfare”
  • ZZ Top “Sharp Dressed Man (Live)”

To top it all off, we’ve even got the debut teaser trailer. Enjoy, fellow shredders!

Sort: Newest | Oldest